Competitions Banner

UNITE

Applications are open for Unite 2020. View the press release and contact the site director at the university of your choice listed below to apply to the four-to-six week, pre-collegiate, academic summer program for talented high school students from groups historically underserved in STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics).

Funded by the Army Educational Outreach Program (AEOP) and administered by the Technology Student Association (TSA), Unite is designed to encourage and help prepare students to pursue college-level studies, and ultimately, STEM Careers in fields such as engineering. See the 2018 and 2019Unite albums. Scroll to the bottom of this webpage to view other press releases; Unite in the Spotlight; AEOP Blogs on Unite; and AEOP Unite Alumni Profiles.

2020 Unite sites

ALABAMA
Alabama State University – Montgomery, AL (virtual program)
Site Director: Dr. Carl Pettis (cpettis@alasu.edu)
Program dates: June 15–July 3, 2020

ARKANSAS
University of Arkansas – Fayetteville, AR (virtual program)
Site Director: Dr. Justin Zhan (jzhan@uark.edu)
Program dates: June 1–July 10, 2020

COLORADO
University of Colorado – Colorado Springs, CO (virtual program)
Site Director: Ms. Vicki Taylor (vtaylor5@uccs.edu)
Program dates: June 1–June 25, 2020
Applications will be accepted only from rising 10th
–12th grade students from school districts in El Paso and Pueblo counties who will be enrolled in the UCCS Pre-Collegiate Program.

FLORIDA
Florida State University – Tallahassee, FL (virtual program)
Site Director: Dr. Faye Jones (faye.jones@cci.fsu.edu)
Program dates: June 15–July 24, 2020

Miami Dade College – Homestead , FL (virtual program)
Site Director: Mr. Jasmine Johnson (jjohnso9@mdc.edu)
Program dates: June 22–July 31, 2020
Applications will be accepted only from rising 10th–12th grade students who are enrolled in Miami Dade College Homestead Upward Bound.

GEORGIA
Savannah State University – Savannah, GA (virtual program)
Site Director: Dr. Asad Yousuf (yousufa@savannahstate.edu)
Program dates: June 8–July 13, 2020

KANSAS
University of Kansas– Lawrence, KS (virtual program)
Site Director: Ms. Marilynn Chavez (marilynnchavez@ku.edu)
Program Dates: June 1–July 9, 2020

MARYLAND
Morgan State University – Baltimore, MD (virtual program)
Site Director: Dr. Candice Marshall (candice.marshall@morgan.edu)
Program dates: June 22–July 31, 2020

MONTANA
Montana Tech – Butte, MT (virtual program)
Site Director: Theresa Rader (trader@mtech.edu)
Program dates: June 21–July 31, 2020

NEW JERSEY
New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT) – Newark, NJ (virtual program)
Site Director: Ms. Suzanne Berliner-Heyman (berlines@njit.edu)
Program dates: July 6–July 31, 2020
Applications will only be accepted from rising 10th grade female high school students living within commuting distance of the NJIT campus in Newark, NJ.

NEW MEXICO
University of New Mexico – Albuquerque, NM (virtual program)
Site Director: Ms. Elsa Castillo (elsac@unm.edu)
Program dates: Monday, June 8 - Friday, June 26, 2020
                       Monday, July 13 - Friday, July 31, 2020


NORTH CAROLINA
Fayetteville State University – Fayetteville, NC (virtual program)
Site Director: Ms. Kendra Simon (kasimon01@uncfsu.edu)
Program dates: July 13- August 7

North Carolina Agriculture & Technical State University – Greensboro, NC (virtual program)
Site Director: Dr. Robert Cobb, Jr. (rcobbjr@ncat.edu)
Program dates: July 6–July 31, 2020
Applications will be accepted only from rising 9th–12th grade students who are enrolled in the TRIO Talent Search program at NC A&T State University.

OHIO
Ohio State University – Wooster, OH (virtual program)
Site Director: Mr. Jacob Gillam (gillam.25@osu.edu)
Program dates: June 15–July 24, 2020
Applications will be accepted only from rising 9th-10th grade students from Wooster High School, Orrville High School, and Canton-McKinley High School, who also are enrolled in OSU ATI Upward Bound.

PENNSYLVANIA
University of Pennsylvania – Philadelphia, PA (virtual program)
Site Director: Mr. Dan Uueda (danueda@seas.upenn.edu)
Program dates: July 6–July 31, 2020

PUERTO RICO
CANCELLED
University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras Campus – San Juan, PR (day program)
Site Director: Dr. Peter Feng (peter.feng@upr.edu)
Program dates: June 22–July 17, 2020
Applications will be accepted from rising 9th through rising 12th grade students who attend Puerto Rico schools.

TEXAS
Texas Southern University – Houston, TX (virtual program)
Site Director: Ms. Marcia Robin-Stoute (robinms@tsu.edu)
Program dates: June 22–July 16, 2020

VIRGINIA
CANCELLED
Virginia State University– Petersburg, VA (day program)
Site Director: Dr. Ross Johnson (rdjohnson@vsu.edu)
Program dates: June 22–July 17, 2020
Applications will be accepted from rising 9th to rising 12th grade students from the Petersburg, Dinwiddie, Hopewell, and Chesterfield, VA school districts.

Virginia Tech – Blacksburg, VA (virtual program)
Site Director: Ms. Fran Clark (fclark@vt.edu
Program dates: June 13–July 24, 2020

WEST VIRGINIA
Marshall University – Huntington, WV (virtual program)
Site Director: Dr. Shelvy Campbell-Monroe (campbels@marshall.edu)
Program dates: June 8–July 3, 2020
Applications will be accepted only from West Virginia, Kentucky, and Ohio high school students.

West Virginia State University – Institute, WV (virtual program)
Site Director: Dr. Micheal Fultz (mfultz@wvstateu.edu)
Program dates: July 6–July 31, 2020

Press Releases:

Unite in the Spotlight:

AEOP Blogs on Unite:

AEOP Unite Alumni Profiles: