Competitions Banner

UNITE

Applications are open for Unite 2020. View the press release and contact the site director at the university of your choice listed below to apply to the four-to-six week, pre-collegiate, academic summer program for talented high school students from groups historically underserved in STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics).

Funded by the Army Educational Outreach Program (AEOP) and administered by the Technology Student Association (TSA), Unite is designed to encourage and help prepare students to pursue college-level studies, and ultimately, STEM Careers in fields such as engineering. See the 2018 and 2019Unite albums. Scroll to the bottom of this webpage to view other press releases; Unite in the Spotlight; AEOP Blogs on Unite; and AEOP Unite Alumni Profiles.

2020 Unite sites

ALABAMA
Alabama State University – Montgomery, AL (day program)
Site Director: Dr. Carl Pettis (cpettis@alasu.edu)
Program dates: June 1–June 26, 2020

ARKANSAS
University of Arkansas – Fayetteville, AR (day program)
Site Director: Dr. Justin Zhan (jzhan@uark.edu)
Program dates: June 15–August 1, 2020

COLORADO
University of Colorado – Colorado Springs, CO (day program)
Site Director: Ms. Vicki Taylor (vtaylor5@uccs.edu)
Program dates: June 1–June 25, 2020
Applications will be accepted only from rising 10th
–12th grade students from school districts in El Paso and Pueblo counties who will be enrolled in the UCCS Pre-Collegiate Program.

FLORIDA
Florida State University – Tallahassee, FL (day program)
Site Director: Dr. Faye Jones (faye.jones@cci.fsu.edu)
Program dates: June 8–July 10, 2020

Miami Dade College – Homestead , FL (day program)
Site Director: Mr. Jasmine Johnson (jjohnso9@mdc.edu)
Program dates: June 22–July 24, 2020
College Visit: August 3–7, 2020
Applications will be accepted only from rising 10th–12th grade students who are enrolled in Miami Dade College Homestead Upward Bound.

GEORGIA
Savannah State University – Savannah, GA (residential program)
Site Director: Dr. Asad Yousuf (yousufa@savannahstate.edu)
Program dates: June 8–July 13, 2020

KANSAS
University of Kansas– Lawrence, KS (residential program)
Site Director: Ms. Marilynn Chavez (marilynnchavez@ku.edu)
Program Dates: June 1–July 9, 2020

MARYLAND
Morgan State University – Baltimore, MD (residential program)
Site Director: Dr. Candice Marshall (candice.marshall@morgan.edu)
Program dates: June 22–July 31, 2020

MONTANA
Montana Tech – Butte, MT (residential program)
Site Director: Theresa Rader (trader@mtech.edu)
Program dates: June 14–July 24, 2020

NEW JERSEY
New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT) – Newark, NJ (day program)
Site Director: Ms. Suzanne Berliner-Heyman (berlines@njit.edu)
Program dates: July 6–July 31, 2020
Applications will only be accepted from rising 10th grade female high school students living within commuting distance of the NJIT campus in Newark, NJ.

NEW MEXICO
University of New Mexico – Albuquerque, NM (day program)
Site Director: Ms. Elsa Castillo (elsac@unm.edu)
Program dates: June 8–July 3, 2020

NORTH CAROLINA
Fayetteville State University – Fayetteville, NC (day program)
Site Director: Ms. Kendra Simon (kasimon01@uncfsu.edu)
Program dates: July 13- August 7

North Carolina Agriculture & Technical State University – Greensboro, NC (day program)
Site Director: Dr. Robert Cobb, Jr. (rcobbjr@ncat.edu)
Program dates: June 15–July 31, 2020
Applications will be accepted only from rising 9th–12th grade students who are enrolled in the TRIO Talent Search program at NC A&T State University.

OHIO
Ohio State University – Wooster, OH (residential program)
Site Director: Mr. Jacob Gillam (gillam.25@osu.edu)
Program dates: June 14–July 15, 2020
Applications will be accepted only from rising 9th-10th grade students from Wooster High School, Orrville High School, and Canton-McKinley High School, who also are enrolled in OSU ATI Upward Bound.

PENNSYLVANIA
University of Pennsylvania – Philadelphia, PA (day program)
Site Director: Mr. Dan Uueda (danueda@seas.upenn.edu)
Program dates: July 6–July 31, 2020

PUERTO RICO
University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras Campus – San Juan, PR (day program)
Site Director: Dr. Peter Feng (peter.feng@upr.edu)
Program dates: June 22–July 17, 2020
Applications will be accepted from rising 9th through rising 12th grade students who attend Puerto Rico schools.

TEXAS
Texas Southern University – Houston, TX (day program)
Site Director: Ms. Marcia Robin-Stoute (robinms@tsu.edu)
Program dates: June 8–July 2, 2020

VIRGINIA
Virginia State University– Petersburg, VA (day program)
Site Director: Dr. Ross Johnson (rdjohnson@vsu.edu)
Program dates: June 22–July 17, 2020
Applications will be accepted from rising 9th to rising 12th grade students from the Petersburg, Dinwiddie, Hopewell, and Chesterfield, VA school districts.

Virginia Tech – Blacksburg, VA (residential program)
Site Director: Ms. Fran Clark (fclark@vt.edu
Program dates: June 13–July 24, 2020

WEST VIRGINIA
Marshall University – Huntington, WV (residential program)
Site Director: Dr. Shelvy Campbell-Monroe (campbels@marshall.edu)
Program dates: May 31–June 30, 2020
Applications will be accepted only from West Virginia, Kentucky, and Ohio high school students.

West Virginia State University – Institute, WV (day program)
Site Director: Dr. Micheal Fultz (mfultz@wvstateu.edu)
Program dates: July 6–July 31, 2020

Press Releases:

Unite in the Spotlight:

AEOP Blogs on Unite:

AEOP Unite Alumni Profiles: