UNITE Program


Unite is a four-to-six week, pre-collegiate, academic summer program for talented high school students from groups historically underrepresented and underserved in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM).

Funded by the U.S. Army Educational Outreach Program (AEOP) and administered by the Technology Student Association (TSA), the UNITE program is designed to encourage and help prepare students to pursue college-level studies, and ultimately, careers in engineering and related STEM fields. More information about the AEOP and Unite can be found at www.usaeop.com.

2018-2019 Unite Sites


Alabama State University – Montgomery, AL (day program)
Site Director: Dr. Carl S. Pettis (cpettis@alasu.edu)  334-229-4465
Program dates: June 4 – June 29


University of Colorado – Colorado Springs, CO (day program)
Site Director: Dr. David Khaliqi (dkhaliqi@uccs.edu)  719-255-3595
Program dates: June 4 – June 29


Florida State University – Tallahassee, FL (day program)
Site Director: Mr. Ebe Randeree (ebe.randeree@cci.fsu.edu) 850-645-5674

Program dates: June 18 – August 3


Savannah State University – Savannah, GA (residential program)
Site Director: Dr. Asad Yousuf (yousufa@savannahstate.edu)  912-695-5501
Program dates: June 11 – July 13


The University of Iowa – Iowa City, IA (residential program)
Site Director: Mr. Tracy Peterson (tracy-peterson@uiowa.edu) 319-335-5776
Program Dates: June 25 – July 27


Morgan State University – Baltimore, MD (residential program)
Site Director: Dr. Traci Allotey (traci.allotey@morgan.edu)  443-885-4298
Program dates: June 24 – July 27


Michigan Technological University – Houghton, MI (day program)
Site Director: Ms. Liz Fujita (liz@mtu.edu)  906-487-2219
Program dates: June 11 – July 6


Jackson State University – Jackson, MS (day program)
Site Director: Dr. Francis Tuluri (francis.tuluri@jsums.edu)  601-979-8262
Program dates: June 4 – June 29


Harris-Stowe State University – St. Louis, MO (residential program)
Site Director: Ms. Linda Todoroff (todorofl@hssu.edu)  314-340-5796
Program dates: June 24 – July 26

Montana Tech – Butte, MT (residential program)
Site Director: Theresa Rader (trader@mtech.edu) 406-496-4683
Program dates: June 17 – July 27


University of Nevada, Las Vegas – Las Vegas, NV (day program)
Site Director: Dr. Justin Zhan (justin.zhan@unlv.edu)  702-895-2054
Program dates: May 25 – July 6

New Jersey

New Jersey Institute of Technology – Newark, NJ (day program)
Site Director: Ms. Suzanne Berliner-Heyman (berlines@njit.edu)  973-642-4795
Program dates: July 9 – August 3

New Mexico

University of New Mexico – Albuquerque, NM (day program)
Site Director: Ms. Katherine Love (katherin@unm.edu)  505-277-9921
Program dates: June 3 – June 29

North Carolina

Fayetteville State University – Fayetteville, NC (day program)
Site Director: Dr. Teresa Thompson-Pinckney (tpinckney@uncfsu.edu)  910-672-1870
Program dates: June 19 – July 14


University of Pennsylvania – Philadelphia, PA (day program)
Site Director: Mr. Dan Uueda (danueda@seas.upenn.edu)  215-746-8126
Program dates: July 9 – August 3

Puerto Rico

University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras Campus – San Juan, PR (day program)
Site Director: Dr. Peter Feng (peter.feng@upr.edu)  787-764-0620
Program dates: June 18 – July 13


Texas Southern University – Houston, TX (day program)
Site Director: Ms. Marcia Robin-Stoute (robinms@tsu.edu)  713-313-7673
Program dates: June 25 – July 20


Virginia Tech – Blacksburg, VA (residential program)
Site Director: Mr. Jason Puryear (jpuryear@vt.edu) 540-231-8171
Program dates: June 16 – July 21

West Virginia

Marshall University – Huntington, WV (residential program)
Site Director: Dr. Shelvy Campbell-Monroe (campbels@marshall.edu)  304-691-1607
Program dates: June 4 – June 29